Who We Are
Trinity was founded on June 15, 1882 by sixteen Swedish Christians as The First Swedish Baptist Church in Bridgeport, CT.
With property donated by P.T. Barnum, in honor of Jenny Lind (known as the Swedish Nightengale), the first church building was constructed in 1884 on Seeley St (photo at left).
In 1906, there were 185 baptized believers and a large ministry among young people.
In 1920, a new, larger sanctuary was built on Colorado Ave. Continued outreach to young people and the surrounding community made English, instead of Swedish, the spoken language.
By 1942, the membership rose to 310 people. On June 12, 1946, the name was changed to The Baptist Temple.
In 1958, a sister church, Long Hill Baptist, was founded in Trumbull with 22 members.
In 1969, the current property in Fairfield was purchased, and in 1971, the name Trinity Baptist Church was adopted. The first service was held in the new sanctuary on April 6, 1972.
In 1973, Dave and Barb DeVries Joined Trinity. Pastor Dave was the Youth Pastor, and later became Senior Pastor on May 1, 1976.
Since then, additional properties adjacent to the church were acquired to house staff, global partners, and Renew Counseling Center. The sanctuary, foyer, and classrooms were also expanded.
Today, the church has a wide variety of ministries and programs, and our vision is to help the people of Fairfield County experience the love of God, embrace the truth of God, and enlist in the service of God.